You are here
Home > Sport News > Bucks legends Sidney Moncrief, Jack Sikma get inducted in Basketball Hall of Fame – WTMJ

Bucks legends Sidney Moncrief, Jack Sikma get inducted in Basketball Hall of Fame – WTMJ

Two Milwaukee Bucks from the 1980’s will be receiving the ultimate individual honor for the sport of basketball.

Sidney Moncrief and Jack Sikma will both receive full induction Friday night into the Basketball Hall of Fame in the birthplace of the sport, Springfield, Mass.

In his 10 years in Milwaukee (1979-89), Moncrief became one of the greatest defenders the sport has ever seen. He was a two-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year (1982-84), a four-time NBA All-Defensive first team player and made the All-NBA first or second team five times. Moncrief was also a five-time All-Star.

He averaged 15.6 points, 4.7 rebounds, 3.6 assists and 1.2 steals per game for his career which also included one year in Atlanta (1990-91).

Sikma played five of his 14 NBA seasons in Milwaukee (1986-91). In that span of time, he averaged 13.4 points, 7.9 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game. He also played nine years with the Seattle Supersonics, and won an NBA title with them.

In the 12 year span that Moncrief and Sikma played in Milwaukee, the Bucks made the playoffs every year and won seven division titles.

Former Celtics coach Bill Fitch, Knicks and Celtics star Carl Braun, Lakers and Kings standout Vlade Divac, North Carolina and Philadelphia 76ers star Bobby Jones, Phoenix Suns standout Paul Westphal, New York Liberty and Olympic star Teresa Weatherspoon, the Tennessee A&I men’s teams of 1957-59, the Wayland Baptist University women’s teams of 1948-82, player, coach and executive Al Attles and Chuck Cooper, the first African-American to play in a college game south of the Mason-Dixon line will all receive induction as well.

11 Bucks have made the Hall of Fame besides Moncrief and Sikma:
– Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1969-75)
– Ray Allen (1996-2003)
– Tiny Archibald (1983-94)
– Dave Cowens (1982-83)
– Adrian Dantley (1990-91)
– Alex English (1976-78)
– Bob Lanier (1979-84)
– Moses Malone (1991-93)
– Oscar Robertson (1970-74)
– Gary Payton (2002-03)
– Guy Rodgers (1968-70)